Top Dream Theater Songs
Vote and view the results here!

1. Octavarium
2. A Change of Seasons
3. Metropolis Pt. 1
4. Six Degrees of Inner Turbulence
5. In The Presence Of Enemies

Poll: What is your favorite DT studio album?

Walking through winter streets alone
He stops and take a breath

Metropolis Pt. 2: Scenes From a Memory
October 26, 1999
Studio Release

This is Dream Theater's fifth studio album and the first album to feature Dream Theater's current keyboardist, Jordan Rudess. The song Metropolis Pt. 1 - "The Miracle And The Sleeper" was originally titled "Part 1" as a joke, but after pressure from fans Dream Theater decided to write Part 2. They wrote a 20-minute conclusion during the recording sessions for Falling Into Infinity, however the recording company did not want to release a double CD at the time so Part 2 was postponed. When Dream Theater was getting ready to record their fifth album, they decided to turn Part 2 into a concept album instead. Their result is a rock opera masterpiece and is often hailed as Dream Theater's best album to date.
The story to this album is extremely complicated, containing a cast of five characters: Nicholas [N], Victoria Page [V], Senator Edward Baynes [The Miracle], Julian Baynes [The Sleeper], and the Hypnotherapist [H]. The story revolves around Nicholas and the discovery of the horrors of his past life as Victoria Page. You can view a detailed analysis of the album at the DT FAQ.

The following movies were quoted as influences for this album: Dead Again, The Shining, and Angel Heart
The following albums were quoted as influences for this album: Pink Floyd – The Wall, The Who - Tommy, The Who - Quadrophenia, Queensr˙che - Operation Mindcrime, Marillion – Misplaced Childhood, Marillion – Brave, Genesis - The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway, Kevin Gilbert - The Shaming Of The True, King Diamond - Abigail, King Diamond - Them, and Frank Zappa - Joe's Garage

Pages 1-2
Pages 3-4
Pages 5-6
Pages 7-8
Pages 9-10
Page 11

1. Scene One: Regression (2:06)
2. Scene Two: I. Overture 1928 (3:37)
3.             II. Strange Deja Vu (5:13)
4. Scene Three: I. Through My Words (1:02)
5.             II. Fatal Tragedy (6:49)
6. Scene Four: Beyond This Life (11:22)
7. Scene Five: Through Her Eyes (5:29)
8. Scene Six: Home (12:53)
9. Scene Seven: I. The Dance of Eternity (6:13)
10.             II. One Last Time (3:47)
11. Scene Eight: The Spirit Carries On (6:38)
12. Scene Nine: Finally Free (12:00)

Total Time: 78:19

- James LaBrie / vocals
- John Petrucci / guitar, vocals
- John Myung / bass
- Jordan Rudess / keyboard
- Mike Portnoy / drums, percussion, vocals
- Theresa Thomason / additional vocals on Through Her Eyes and The Spirit Carries On
- Theresa Thomason, Mary Canty, Shelia Slappy, Mary Smith, Jeanette Smith, Clarence Burke Jr, Carol Cyrus, Dale Scott / Gospel Choir on The Spirit Carries On (arranged by Jordan Rudess)

Recorded: February - June, 1999 - BearTracks Studios, New York
Label: Elektra

Buy at Amazon
Buy at CDUniverse
Copyright ©2005-2010 xtraverse and